Palette Showdown: Crown Blush Palette


As I told you when I showed you my haul from the Crown Brush sale on Hautelook (it’s back on the site tomorrow, incidentally), I spent an entire week last week using this palette, and only this palette. First, the swatches:

Image

Here is the whole palette. Lots of variety. The cover is gold leopard print. It’s plastic and feels a little flimsy.

Image

Row one. it’s hard to discern them from each other.

Image

A little bit more color, though much more shimmer than they appear in pan.

Image

3rd row. still pretty light except for the far right.

Image

That blue/purple is one of the more pigmented colors in the bunch.

Image

Next. colors are darker but still nothing too crazy.

Image

I left this picture as is so you can see the line of fallout because I used a brush to swatch. This row also had the darkest colors.

So far I liked the variety, but had concerns about the powder spraying and lack of pigmentation, especially in the paler shades.

Image

Holy fallout batman. this was a bitch to clean up.

Image

These aren’t in order, by the way. This one was better. It was hard to get a good blend going because the colors are TOO similar and just disappear into one another instead of fading into it.

Image

This one was a little better. I found that as long as i used the dark grey as the outer corner it gave the illusion of good blending.

Image

Meh.

Image

I’m not sure how I was able to make this one so bold. As you can tell by my freaking undereye circles…I was half-dead when I did this. I’m not sleeping well, apparently.

Image

My eyes underneath are a little irritated from trying to clean up the stupid fallout. That is seriously my biggest complaint about this palette. its MESSY.

There you have it. 7 very different looks from one very mediocre palette. In other news, I also used my new travel crown brush BRUSHES this week while playing with the shadows, and they are decent. I really liked the blush and powder brushes especially. Catch them on Hautelook tomorrow at 11am EST!

Leave a Reply

