August 2013 Ipsy: Makeup Academy


I hadn’t anticipated time to blog this weekend. Most of you are probably too cool to know, but early access to FFXIV:ARR began yesterday. For those of you who are WAY too cool…it’s a video game. And I get to play it before everyone else. However it’s been really buggy and error-ful, so while it is down for the 4th emergency maintenance, I thought I would show you all what I got in this month’s Ipsy!

Image

I love the bag! Different from all the month’s prior. Also, since I never got shipping notification (DHL…..*shakes fist*.) I didn’t know I was getting another referral bonus! THANK YOU! The UD Moondust shadow is an older bonus that I thought they were out of–I was wrong!

Image

Everything laid out so you could see. I already knew what I was getting from my glam room, but I was still ecstatic to see it all in front of me!

Image

Referall eyeshadow. It is the Diamond Dog shade, which is perfect bc I have the diamond dog Stardust shadow–MATCHY MATCHY!!

Image

swatches. The glitter is very fine, in contrast to the stardust line’s chunkier glitter–both of which i love and appreciate.

Image

Urban Decay revolution lipstick mini in Anarchy! This little beauty caused quite a stir for Ipsy, because the alternate item was a lip balm. While it cannot compare to UD, this is still a monthly grab bag and you still get items worth more than you paid.

Image

Swatched! It’s a brilliant color.

Image

Chella eyebrow pencil. This actually turned out to be a great shade for me! The pencil itself is so thin, it feels very fragile but so far it has actually worked out quite well.

Image

Swatched. It’s perfectly dark and blends well with my black brows.

Image

MIca beauty shimmer powder. I got this product in a previous month, but in a different color! It all worked out and the shade from this month, Bronze, goes well with the slightly pink shade, Earth, I received before.

Image

Swatched!

Image

Pixi lash booster mascara. I was excited to try this because so far I have really enjoyed the pixi products I have tried. This one, however, was not meant to be. That’s the risk you take with an Ipsy sub though!

Image

Wand. You can see the packaging also isnt great–the black insert lifts away from the green tube every time I pull the wand out.

Image

MIchael Todd charcoal face scrub. I was leery about rubbing charcoal on my face. Yes, it turns your face black, but then grey as it suds up, and then you are left with smooth clean skin. I use this a couple times a week in lieu of my other cleansers, just to mix it up!

Image

Yup. Smear it ALL OVER.

Image

Did a look with Ipsy samples only!

Image

The two shadows from this month, plus my other Mica shadow. Unfortunately the Pixi mascara makes my lashes horrendously straight😦

Image

Brilliance of Anarchy. I wish there was more of summer left so i could keep rocking this lipstick!

If you havent tried Ipsy yet and like what you see, sign up here. For those of you already subscribed, what did you get? Were any of you stuck with lip balm? I’m also interested to see if anyone actually liked this mascara. Let me know!

2 thoughts on “August 2013 Ipsy: Makeup Academy

Leave a Reply

