Open ALL the things! The week in mail…


Happy Saturday, my lovelies! This week I certainly kept my mailman busy, with 2 beauty boxes and a Hautelook order arriving. I love getting mail so much that when I get home from work I can’t even wait until I slip off my shoes and freshen up–so it comes into the bathroom with me! Convenient since the cupboard where empty boxes get stored is there, as well as my vanity drawers-until my battlestation comes home, that is (currently at the furniture doctor!) So let me present to you my mail this week:

#1: The elusive, ever-mysterious, fashionably-late, Target Beauty Box

Image

There has been a lot of drama surrounding this box. Where previous Target offerings were free, this one cost $5. Also they were set to ship in 4-6 weeks, when in reality it took at least 7 if not more for earlier buyers. However the value of the box is at least double.

Image

Gillette Venus & Olay razor -8.99 on Target.com. I recently tired of my Schick Intuition and am in the market for a new razor that doesn’t require shaving cream, so this was very exciting to receive. I haven’t tried it yet but the reviews on the website seem to indicate the product itself is very good, but the durability and cost of replacement blades is deterring. However I feel like that is a complaint for most razors with refillable cartridges so we will see.

Loreal Studio Secrets Magic BB cream – foil packet (priced at 7.99/oz) . I received this in Light when really my skin tone is more Medium, so this will probably go to my fair-skinned bestie. Maybe she will even review it for us? I am apprehensive about US drugstore brand BB creams as all the higher end samples I have tried so far have been disappointing.

La Roche Posay Effaclar duo acne treatment – foil packet, priced at 36.99/1.35 oz. (yikes!) This one I will try, though I think at that price for such a small tube I am unlikely to purchase it unless it ends up being something I can’t live without, or makes my skin absolutely flawless.

Fekkai Glossing Creme (couldn’t find it on Target.com, but the shampoo and conditioner are 20/each so I figure the price is probably comparable) I have tried Fekkai hair product samples in the past and been underwhelmed so my hopes are not particularly high.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects in Sweet Tartan – 8.50/box. Probably the most exciting thing in this box! I have good luck with Sally Hansen polishes and the insta-dry topcoat, so I am very much looking forward to trying these quick and easy no-dry nail polish strips. Plus the plaid design is totally fetch! The only thing that is strange is that it includes 16 strips….Last time I checked, 99% of people had 10 fingers and 10 toes….though that could be 2 manis if you leave one nail to do an accent color–for this design, i’m thinking orange🙂

#2 June 2013 Ipsy Bag–the Wild Side 

Image

Love the cute leopard print bag! As always, lots of great fullsized products and a great deal, at $10/month. Also, in the upper left corner was my bonus for referring two people–An adorable bauble bar bracelet! I was hoping for the other gift, which was an Urban Decay shadow, but honestly this is adorable and I’ve worn it every day since! [If you click here to sign up I can get more goodies to review for you in future bags!]

Starlooks lip pencil in Tipsy – $12. This is a great pink shade. It applies very smoothly and blends nicely. You can see both this and the gel liner from this bag in the second look in this post.

Cailyn Linefix Gel Eyeliner in Purple– $21. I knew a girl in college named Cailyn and everyone thought here name was just Caitlyn misspelled! I have been dying to try cream liners and this one applies well, though I think I will use my own brush as opposed to the one that is included.

Nyx Rouge Cream Blush in Orange – $6. This color will be a great addition to my recent blush fixation and I already know Nyx to be a reliable brand for powder blushes and shadows.

Image

swatches of the blush, lip liner, and gel eyeliner

J.Cat Sparkling Cream Palette – $4.49. This item in particular got ripped apart in other reviews and forums (*cough* Reddit) but the item’s packaging offers little clues on how it is intended to be used. It isn’t a true shadow because they are all pretty much straight up glitter. However just now to get you that lovely link, when you hover over the different color options, the link title is ‘liquid glitter liner’. This makes so much sense! Either way I love me a good glitter and am excited about it–so much so that I have a trade going with a friend to get the other Ipsy color option since she doesnt want it.

Image

glitter palette swatches, the 2nd color is my favorite!

Pssst! Dry Shampoo – $4.46/1.75 oz. I actually already tried this, and you have to be really super careful about spraying evenly otherwise it will leave a white residue spot even after brushing. However the functionality of this item is quite high and as someone who’s scalp leans oily, I was happy to receive it.

#3 Last but not least, LORAC haul from Hautelook!

Image

The Eye candy full face palette collection, Red Carpet palette, and two starry-eyed baked shadow trios!

As exciting as this was…I need to stop spending money🙂 However the prices for this sale were unreal and I have no regrets. (for those of you teenybopper twitter fanatics, #yoloswag) But, as they say, a picture is worth 1000 words, and I took a sh*t-ton.

Image

Eye Candy collection – $69.This item was originally a Sephora exclusive, but is out of stock and now can only be found on Amazon and Ebay. I paid $28 for it. It is 4 shadow palettes, a cream eyeliner palette, and a lip color palette, in adorable candy bar packaging. And lucky you! I swatched them all for you! I didn’t use any primer and only swiped each finger once–the payoff is amazeballs and I foresee these becoming easily my favorite products. How did I ever live without Lorac in my life? HOW?

Image

seriously. no primer involved whatsoever, and swatched with my finger. so impressive.

Image

holy pigment batman

ImageImage

Image

I couldnt get a decent picture of the liners with or without flash…trust me when I say they are awesome, k?

Image

Starry Eyed Baked Trios – $27. My colors are Pop Star and Rock Star. I had a mild  incredible obsession with stars and being a rock star which still crops up every now and then, and since I think I paid $6 each for these trios I think it was a good bargain. These were a little more difficult to swatch well because of the baked texture, but you can use them wet or dry and they seem as if they will blend nicely.

ImageImage

Lastly, but not leastly, the Red Carpet Reveal Palette, priced at $35, and I didnt pay nearly that much, i think it was 8-10 on Hautelook. It includes 3 shadows, a blush, and double ended applicator brush.

Image

These are much more subtle colors and will come in handy for natural and neutral looks!

And there you have it! Bonus pic for you–since you can see it in some of the pictures, my manicure is the holographic silver shade Rebel from Julep. I got it because my old silver bit the dust and I had no idea it was a holo, but I was excited and pleasantly surprised!

Image

What did you get in your ipsy? Did any of you take advantage of the LORAC sale or the Target box? Is there something you’d like to see differently? All feedback is welcome and encouraged!

11 thoughts on “Open ALL the things! The week in mail…

  1. I really wanted the lorac candy collection -it was sold out on hautelook by the time I saw it!! I suppose my wallet is thankful for that😉 but so excited that you posted all the swatches!!

  2. Wow I love the line about taking boxes to the bathroom with you. I can SO relate and will be happy to let hubby know that, no, I’m not the only one😉. I work out of my home office but if duty calls and there’s a box to open that beautiful box comes with. Has happened more times than I care to admit!

  3. Pingback: Review: Target Beauty Box (Trial Launch) | R & J LeeLee and the Case of Too Many Interests

  4. Pingback: Product Review for the Pretty Pale People! | the Keri Confessionals

Leave a Reply

